Community Forum Data-Intensive Computing (DIC)

The DIC is an exchange and information meeting for current and future users of Heidelberg University's data-intensive computing services. These include the bwHPC computing resources and SDS@hd - Scientific Data Storage, a state service for the storage of research data.

The forum regularly offers introductions to various DIC services, such as Baden-Württemberg's HPC concept or the storage service SDS@hd. The networking and synergetic use of existing DIC services is also addressed. In addition, new services, features, and important changes in existing DIC services are reported regularly. Participants have the opportunity to ask questions and exchange information with other users.

Interested parties and Community Forum participants can independently subscribe to the CF-DIC mailing list, which distributes news parallel to the Community Forum.

The Community Forum Data-Intensive Computing is conducted by the service area Future IT - Research & Education (FIRE) and presents the successor to bwForTreff. The archived content of the latter is still available on this website.

If you have any questions concerning the event or regarding data-intensive computing, feel free to contact us: cf-dic@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Next date

The last meeting took place on July 1, 2020 (in digital form). Once a date for the next meeting has been set, it will be published here.

Downloads

To download the slides from past meetings, a login via Uni-ID or project account is required. If you encounter any login problems, add a "AD\" before the user name (e.g., AD\xy123)

Community Forum Data-Intensive Computing (DIC)

Das Community Forum Data-Intensive Computing (DIC) ist ein Austausch- und Informationstreffen für bestehende und zukünftige Nutzer von Data-Intensive Computing-Diensten der Universität Heidelberg. Darunter fallen etwa die bwHPC-Rechenressourcen und der Landesdienst SDS@hd - Scientific Data Storage zur Speicherung wissenschaftlicher Daten.

Das Forum bietet regelmäßige Einführungen in verschiedene DIC-Dienste, etwa in das HPC-Konzept von Baden-Württemberg oder den Speicherdienst SDS@hd. Auch die Vernetzung und synergetische Nutzung der bestehenden DIC-Dienste wird thematisiert. Darüber hinaus wird regelmäßig über neue Angebote, Features und wichtige Änderungen im Bereich der DIC-Dienste berichtet. Es besteht Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen und sich mit anderen Nutzern auszutauschen.

Interessenten und Teilnehmer des Community Forums können darüber hinaus selbständig die E-Mail-Liste CF-DIC abonnieren, über die ergänzend zum Community Forum Neuigkeiten verteilt werden.

Das Community Forum Data-Intensive Computing wird vom Servicebereich Future IT – Research & Education (FIRE) veranstaltet und ist das Nachfolgeformat zum bwForTreff, dessen archivierte Inhalte noch auf dieser Webseite zu finden sind.

Bei allgemeinen Fragen zu Veranstaltungen oder zum Thema Data-Intensive Computing wenden Sie sich gerne an uns: cf-dic@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Nächster Termin

Das letzte Treffen fand (virtuell) am 1. Juli 2020 statt. Sobald der nächste Termin feststeht, wird er an dieser Stelle bekanntgegeben.

Downloads

Die Folien der vergangenen Sitzungen können nur nach Login via Uni-ID oder Projektnummer heruntergeladen werden. Bei Login-Problemen müssen Sie ggf. ein "AD\" vor den Benutzernamen setzen (z.B. AD\xy123).