bwForCluster Helix

A new supercomputer is coming 

A new scientific high-performance computing system is being built at Heidelberg University: Currently, preparations are being made to procure bwForCluster Helix and set it up at the University Computing Centre (URZ). In fall 2021, the system will be available as a State service for all researchers of Heidelberg University as well as researchers of all higher education institutions of the State of Baden-Württemberg. The procurement of Helix is financed by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg (MWK) and Heidelberg University. 

As a supercomputer with state-of-the-art equipment, Helix will replace the current system bwForCluster MLS&WISO. The computer cluster will no longer be divided in locations in Heidelberg and Mannheim but rather situated solely at the Heidelberg University Computing Centre (URZ). 

Bild: Nullen und Einsen bewegen sich schnell entlang von Lichtstrahlen
Bild: Nahaufnahme einer Platine

Powerful Hardware for Scientific Research 

The underlying Helix hardware provides a modern and powerful platform for scientific computing and the processing of large amounts of data. 

Overview of the planned specifications of the new cluster: 

  • several hundred compute servers (some with graphic cards as an accelerator) 
  • high-performance network with minimum bandwidths of 100 Gbit/s per compute server 
  • high-performance memory utilizing flash technology 

By connecting directly to the Large Scale Data Facility 2 (LSDF2) scientific storage system and thus to the data stored there through the State service SDS@hd, Helix will make seamless, cross-system workflows possible. Thus, data storage, data management and computing capacity all come from one provider.

A bwHPC-Cluster for life sciences and computational humanities 

The primary use for the new computer cluster is intended for the fields

  • structural system biology 
  • medical science 
  • soft matter 
  • computational humanities

as well as for method development independent of a specific field.

The bwForCluster Helix is a building block of the bwHPC strategy of the State of Baden-Württemberg, through which high-performance computing clusters for various scientific disciplines are being made available at five locations. The goal of bwHPC is to ensure an excellent basic supply of computing and data storage resources for researchers in the state. 

Other important core aspects of the bwHPC strategy are comprehensive user support and goal-oriented user training. For these purposes, both subject-specific bwHPC competence centers as well as HPC teams at the various cluster sites are available throughout Baden-Württemberg.

Bild: Nahaufnahme eines Blattes

Updated information about Helix 

Soon we will be linking news and updated information about Helix in this section to keep you up-to-date about the ongoing construction of the system.

Images: 1. kkssr/Shutterstock | 2. spainter_vfx/Shutterstock | 3. SK Herb/Shutterstock

bwForCluster Helix

Ein neuer Supercomputer entsteht

An der Universität Heidelberg entsteht ein neuer Hochleistungsrechner für die Wissenschaft: Derzeit laufen die Vorbereitungen, bwForCluster Helix zu beschaffen und am Universitätsrechenzentrum aufzubauen. Das System wird voraussichtlich ab dem 3. Quartal 2021 allen Wissenschaftler/innen der Universitäten und Hochschulen des Landes Baden-Württemberg als Landesdienst zur Verfügung stehen. Finanziert wird die Beschaffung von Helix durch die Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg (MWK) und die Universität Heidelberg.

Helix wird als Supercomputer mit moderner Ausstattung das bisherige System bwForCluster MLS&WISO ersetzen. Das Rechencluster wird nicht mehr auf die Standorte Heidelberg und Mannheim aufgeteilt, sondern nur noch am Universitätsrechenzentrum Heidelberg verortet sein.

Bild: Nullen und Einsen bewegen sich schnell entlang von Lichtstrahlen
Bild: Nahaufnahme einer Platine

Leistungsstarke Hardware für die Forschung

Die Helix zugrundeliegende Hardware bietet eine moderne und performante Basis für wissenschaftliche Rechenvorhaben und die Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen.

Die geplanten Spezifikationen des neuen Clusters im Überblick:

  • mehrere Hundert Compute-Server (teilweise mit Grafikkarten als Beschleuniger)
  • hochperformantes Netzwerk mit Netzwerkbandbreiten von mind. 100 Gbit/s je Compute-Server
  • Hochleistungsspeicher unter Einsatz von Flash-Technologie

Durch eine direkte Anbindung an das wissenschaftliche Speichersystem Large Scale Data Facility 2 (LSDF2) und somit zu den Daten, die dort über den Landesdienst SDS@hd gespeichert werden, wird Helix nahtlose, systemübergreifende Workflows ermöglichen. Datenhaltung, Datenmanagement und Rechenkapazität kommen dabei aus einer Hand.

Ein bwHPC-Cluster für Life Sciences und Computational Humanities

Die schwerpunktmäßige Nutzung des neuen Rechenclusters ist für die Fachbereiche

  • Struktur- und Systembiologie
  • Medical Science
  • Soft Matter
  • Computational Humanities

sowie für die fachbereichsunabhängige Methodenentwicklung vorgesehen.

Das bwForCluster Helix ist ein Baustein der bwHPC-Strategie des Landes Baden-Württemberg, über die unter anderem an fünf Standorten Hochleistungsrechencluster für verschiedene wissenschaftliche Fachrichtungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Ziel von bwHPC ist es, eine exzellente Grundversorgung mit Rechen- und Datenhaltungsressourcen für die Forscher/innen im Land zu gewährleisten.

Wichtige Kernaspekte der bwHPC-Strategie sind außerdem der umfassende Nutzersupport und die zielführende Nutzerschulung. Für diese Zwecke stehen landesweit sowohl fachspezifische bwHPC-Kompetenzzentren als auch die HPC-Teams an den verschiedenen Cluster-Standorten zur Verfügung.

Bild: Nahaufnahme eines Blattes
Grafiken: 1. kkssr/Shutterstock | 2. spainter_vfx/Shutterstock | 3. SK Herb/Shutterstock