High performance computing (HPC)


The URZ provides various high performance computing (HPC) resources, which enable users to conduct complex computer-aided calculations. Typical fields of application for HPC resources are, among others, numerical simulations of complex systems or the processing of extensive raw research data. High computing power, coupled with large-scale storage, has become an indispensible tool for dealing with many scientific problems.

Computing power at your disposal

Since January 2014, the bwUniCluster is available to employees and students of Heidelberg University. It serves as an introductory and basic supply system for high performance computing in research and teaching. The bwUniCluster is operated at the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

The bwForCluster MLS&WISO is available for students and employees in the molecular life sciences, economics, and the social sciences at all state universities in Baden-Württemberg. The cluster is financed by the Ministry for Sciences, Research and Arts of Baden-Württemberg (German acronym: MWK) and by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation; German acronym: DFG) and jointly operated by the universities of Heidelberg and Mannheim.

Services

  • HPC support - Support for users of high performance computing systems at Heidelberg University.
  • bwForCluster - High performance computing cluster for the molecular life sciences, economics, and the social sciences.
  • bwUniCluster - Basic high performance computing cluster available to all public universities in the state of Baden-Württemberg.

How-tos

No how-tos available yet.

News

No news at the moment.

Announcements

No current announcements.

Additional Links

No additional links available yet.

Hochleistungsrechnen (HPC)


Am URZ werden verschiedene Ressourcen des Hochleistungsrechnens (HPC) bereitgestellt, die es ermöglichen aufwendige Berechnungen computergestützt durchzuführen. Zu typischen Anwendungen gehören die numerische Simulation komplexer Systeme sowie die Verarbeitung umfangreicher Messdaten. Für Bearbeitung zahlreicher Fragestellungen ist eine hohe Rechenleistung und eine hohe Speicherkapazität erforderlich.

Multiple Rechen-Ressourcen

Den Beschäftigten und Studierenden der Universität Heidelberg steht seit Januar 2014 der bwUniCluster zur Verfügung und dient als Einstiegs- und Grundversorgungssystem für das Hochleistungsrechnen in Forschung und Lehre. Die Universität Heidelberg hat sich bei der Beschaffung dieses Großrechners finanziell beteiligt, woraus ein entsprechender Nutzungsanspruch resultiert. Der bwUniCluster ist am Steinbuch Steinbuch Centre for Computing des KIT in Karlsruhe aufgebaut.

Für die Forschungsbereiche Molekulare Lebenswissenschaften und Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften steht der bwForCluster MLS&WISO als Landesdienst zur Verfügung. Dieser wurde durch das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg (MWK) und durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) finanziert und wird gemeinsam durch Heidelberg und Mannheim betrieben. Es handelt sich um ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit dem Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen (IWR) und dem Rechenzentrum der Universität Mannheim (RUM).

Services

  • bwForCluster - Rechencluster für die Molekularen Lebenswissenschaften (MLS) und Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften (WISO).
  • bwUniCluster - Von den Landesuniversitäten und dem MWK getragenes, gemeinsam genutztes Rechencluster.
  • HPC-Support - Hilfestellung und Fortbildung zu allen Belangen des Hochleistungsrechnens.

Anleitungen

Noch keine Anleitungen vorhanden.


Neues

Derzeit keine Neuigkeiten.

Ankündigungen

Derzeit keine Ankündigungen.

Weiterführende Links

Noch keine Links vorhanden.