Shibboleth Identity Provider

The Shibboleth Identity Provider (IdP) offers a protected single-sign-on (SSO) service. As long as a user is logged in at the IdP via a browser, other services that also use Shibboleth can be accessed without further authentication.

When logging into a service protected by Shibboleth, the user is redirected to the IdP page of the respective institution. Here, the user’s Uni-ID and password are verified. Afterwards, the requesting service receives the data necessary for the authorisation, usually a service-specific pseudonym (targeted ID) by which the service can allocate the same profile to the user, but never the password.

Aside from the pseudonym the service can use the following data transmitted for authorisation:

  • affiliation status with the University (student, faculty, staff, member, affiliate,...)
  • specific strings agreed on for further authentication (entitlements)

If necessary, further personal attributes can be requested, which are only transmitted after the user’s approval.

At Heidelberg University, the IdP is needed to use services that are available state-wide, such as the bwForCluster. Some services only available at Heidelberg University are also connected via Shibboleth, for example heiBOX.

The University Library also makes use of Shibboleth. It is used to grant access to the online services of several publishing houses.

News

No news at the moment.

Announcements

No current announcements.

How-tos

No how-tos available yet.

Shibboleth Identity Provider

Der Shibboleth Identity Provider (IdP) stellt einen geschützen Single-Sign-On(SSO)-Dienst bereit. Solange der User über einen Browser am IdP eingeloggt ist, können weitere Dienste, die ebenfalls Shibboleth nutzen, ohne weitere Authentifizierung genutzt werden.

Beim Web-Login zu einem durch Shibboleth geschützen Dienst wird der/die Nutzer/in auf die IdP-Seite der eigenen Einrichtung umgeleitet. Auf dieser werden Gültigkeit von Uni-ID und Passwort geprüft. Anschließend erhält der anfragende Dienst nur noch die für die Autorisierung notwendigen Daten, im Regelfall lediglich ein dienstspezifisches Pseudonym (targeted-ID), anhand dessen der Dienst dem Nutzer dasselbe Profil zuordnen kann - niemals jedoch das Passwort.

Neben dem Pseudonym kann der Dienst zur Autorisierung folgende an ihn übermittelte Daten heranziehen:

  • Zugehörigkeitsverhältnis zur Universität (affiliation: student, faculty, staff, member, affiliate,...)
  • konkret vereinbarte Zeichenketten für weitergehende Berechtigungen (entitlements)

Sofern notwendig können noch weitere personenbezogene Attribute angefordert werden, die erst nach Zustimmung durch den Nutzer oder die Nutzerin übermittelt werden.

An der Universität Heidelberg wird der IdP zur Nutzung der Landesdienste, z.B. bwForCluster, benötigt (bwIDM). Aber auch Heidelberg-spezifische Dienste werden über Shibboleth angebunden, z.B. heiBOX.

Im Kontext der Universitätsbibliothek werden seit längerem Online-Angebote einiger Verlage via Shibboleth realisiert. Für diese ist zusätzlich auch ein Login via HEIDI-Kennung (nur Ziffern, 8-stellig, z.B. 00123456) möglich.

Neues

Derzeit keine Neuigkeiten.

Ankündigungen

Derzeit keine Ankündigungen.

Anleitungen

Noch keine Anleitungen vorhanden.